Hagrid-isms

Okay, I’ve got a new game…

I’m going to post three of my favorite Hagrid moments from PS/SS Chapter 4. You’re welcome to use the Comments thread to post yours.

1. Hagrid:
Context: Hagrid has broken down the door to the hut, and Uncle Vernon has greeted him with a rifle. Then…

The giant squeezed his way into the hut, stooping so that his head just brushed the ceiling. He bent down, picked up the door, and fitted it easily back into its frame. The noise of the storm outside dropped a little. He turned to look at them all.

“Couldn’t make us a cup o’ tea, could yeh? It’s not been an easy journey…”

2. Hagrid and Uncle Vernon
Context: Hagrid has just become the first person ever to tell Harry that he looks like his father but has his mother’s eyes.

Uncle Vernon made a funny rasping noise.

“I demand that you leave at once, sir!” he said. “You are breaking and entering!”

“Ah, shut up, Dursley, yeh great prune,” said the giant; he reached over the back of the sofa, jerked the gun out of Uncle Vernon’s hands, bent it into a knot as easily as if it had been made of rubber, and threw it into a corner of the room.

Uncle Vernon made another funny noise, like a mouse being trodden on.

3. Hagrid and Uncle Vernon
Context: Hagrid has discovered that Harry has never heard of Hogwarts or of the Wizarding World

“You never told him? Never told him what was in the letter Dumbledore left for him? I was there! I saw Dumbledore leave it, Dursley! An’ you’ve kept it from him all these years?”

“Kept what from me?” said Harry eagerly.

“STOP! I FORBID YOU!” yelled Uncle Vernon in panic.

Aunt Petunia gave a gasp of horror.

“Ah, go boil yer heads, both of yeh,” said Hagrid. “Harry – yer a wizard.”

And don’t forget the bit where Hagrid’s rage has Uncle Vernon mumbling something that sounds like “Mimblewimble”!

Okay… your turn!

2 responses to “Hagrid-isms

  1. I liked Hagrid fishing sausages and a birthday cake out of his pockets best of all. There is something maternal about Hagrid despite his size and appearance (and being actually a male), and to me his pockets are like the stereotypical humor about what may be found in a a woman’s handbag, in a very endearing way.

    And I love the pink umbrella. I never liked fan theories that Dummbledore trusted Snape because the latter had made an Unbreakable Vow to him, but felt I could have been reconciled to such an outcome if, at least, Hagrid with his umbrella had been the Bonder.

    • Oh, I love all of Hagrid’s pockets – and the pink umbrella! And you’re right, he’s quite maternal. In fact, doesn’t he refer to himself as “mummy” with some of his dangerous magical creatures later on in the books? Maybe even with Norbert.

      I’d never heard about the Unbreakable Vow w/Dumbledore theory before. It’s not a theory I like (I prefer relying on TPT – and 17 years of loyalty) to explain Dumbledore’s trust. But the idea of Hagrid using the pink umbrella as Bonder is rather amusing. I wonder if anyone has done any fanart along those lines.

Leave a comment